Accessibility header

Accessible NS graphic smNews

The Minister of Justice is seeking Nova Scotians to sit on the Nova Scotia Accessibility Advisory Committee. The Board provides advice to the Minister on issues related to disability and accessibility. Terms run for three years, beginning in February 2021.

See details pdf here (68 KB) . The deadline for applications is October 6, 2020.

Accessible Lunenburg County

The Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee's website is here:

The municipalities in Lunenburg County are creating an Accessibility Plan to improve accessibility in our region. To write this plan, they have consulted people with disabilities and organizations that represent people with disabilities. For more information, visit the website above.

To contact the Committee, leave a voicemail at (902) 530-2088 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Lunenburg County Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee

The Town of Lunenburg has partnered with the Municipality of the District of Lunenburg, Town of Bridgewater, Town of Mahone Bay, and the Municipality of the District of Chester to form a Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee.

This committee provides advice to the municipal councils in Lunenburg County on identifying, preventing and eliminating barriers to people with disabilities in municipal programs, services, initiatives and facilities. The committee plays a pivotal role in helping municipalities to become barrier-free communities that comply with Nova Scotia’s Accessibility Act (2017).

For more, read the committee's pdf Terms of Reference (2.05 MB) .

Nova Scotia Accessibility Act

Under the Accessibility Act, municipalities must develop an accessibility plan by April 1, 2021. The accessibility plans must be updated every three years.

The Accessibility Act recognizes accessibility as a human right, and sets a goal to make Nova Scotia an accessible province by 2030. The goal of the act is to prevent and remove barriers that restrict people with disabilities from fully participating in society.

For more, read the Nova Scotia Accessibility Act.